Spicy Caribbean style lamb burgers served with rice and peas and a spinach and tomato salad

I’m not very good at some of the finer artful things in life. I remember being amazed at my sister’s prowess at drawing and painting, and thinking I would like to be able to do something similar, but having little success with a pencil or paintbrush. I thought I did have a modicum of arty talent, but it was limited to primitive cartoon drawings (the extent of which was always kept in check by the fact that my best friend in school was/is a genius cartoonist who has gone on to be one of the leading professionals in his field ).

The fact that I don’t seem to be able to fashion aesthetically pleasing burgers with my hands seems to lend weight to my theory of my own limited skill in the physical arts, but I’ve definately stumbled upon ways compensate for this in terms of taste and flavour.

For these particular burgers, I prepared them wholly in the food processor for speed purposed. This results in a smoother textured, slightly more “elastic” burger than you would get if you chopped and mixed everything by hand, which I think would be the preferable ideal.

A compromise between these two would be to process all the ingredients bar the meat, and then mix by hand.

Ingredients:

  • 500g lamb mince
  • 1 small onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp  dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried mint
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground allspice
  • 2 tsp chutney (mango, or some other sweet type)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt (or to taste)

Method:

Either place all ingredients in a food processor and blend, or finely chop onion and garlic and mix thoroughly with other ingredients.

Let the mixture stand for 1/2 hour outside the fridge, or longer inside. This will help the flavours to marinade into the meat.

Shape the burgers as best you can. (Floured hands can help here).

Fry for around 7-10 mins on each side until done. (Turning frequently is a good option here). I prefer to use a dry flat pan (since there’s enough fat contained in the lamb), rather than a griddle, but a griddle would equally suffice, as would frying them in a little olive oil.

About Gourmet Gorman
I'm a musician who enjoys cooking

3 Responses to Spicy Caribbean style lamb burgers served with rice and peas and a spinach and tomato salad

  1. taraskitchenonline says:

    I love Caribbean food, being of Caribbean heritage myself, I am always looking to try new recipes/anything of that flavor. I have never had lamb but the above recipe for lamb burgers sounds yummy! Ill have to try it and let you know what I think.
    Great blog!
    -Tara

  2. erikamarks says:

    This looks fantastic!
    One of the things I love about Creole food is that it can have some of those Caribbean influences and I am such a big fan of those flavors and spices. My husband makes mean Mint Juleps and we have come to put any leftover mint (which admittedly sometimes isn’t much!) into whatever we can. As a result, I can rarely think of a savory dish that isn’t improved by fresh mint–salad dressings, meat dishes, vegetables, rice and beans, even eggs.

Leave a Reply

