A quick salmon and vegetable pullao after a day in the studio…

Salmon and vegetable pullao

Was feeling rather drained when I got in last night after a whole day in a recording studio staring at a keyboard and a computer screen.
It was one of those “shall I or shan’t I” moments when the call of the chinese takeaway round the corner seems to sound magnified…

However, having just got home from a gig in Moscow the day before, I’d missed the start of the World Cup (soccer for you Americans). I must admit, I’m one of those occasional football (soccer) spectators who only really gets interested when the World Cup is on, so when I switched on the radio and heard Paraguay score against the defending champions Italy, I decided to crack open a cold beer and cook whatever the fridge presented me with while listening to the match.

I’m glad I did… here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless salmon fillets
  • 1 small tin of anchovies
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1-inch piece of ginger
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tblsp natural yoghurt
  • 3-4 chestnut mushrooms
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/2 small tin of sweetcorn
  • 1/2 courgette (zucchini)
  • 1/2 dessert spoon cider vinegar
  • Basmati rice enough for 2 people
  • boiling water (twice in volume to the rice)
  • 1 knob of butter
  • spring onion to garnish

Method:

Chop the onions, ginger, garlic and chilli and have them ready.

Heat some oil in the pan and gently mash the anchovies in there.

When they’ve dissolved (but not fried up) add the onions, ginger, garlic and chilli and fry till soft.

Add the tumeric, mustard powder, garam masala and black pepper and fry for a couple of minutes.

Chop and add the carrot, mushrooms, and courgette, and throw in the sweetcorn… fry down for a few minutes to soften.

Stir in the yogurt.

Stir in the rice.

Add the vinegar.

Add the salmon, chopped into chunks.

Add the boiling water, cover and simmer for 10 mins until the rice is done and the water absorbed.

Remove from the heat, chop and add the knob of butter. Cover for a couple of mins to let the butter melt in.

Serve, garnished with the chopped spring onion.

About Gourmet Gorman
I'm a musician who enjoys cooking

10 Responses to A quick salmon and vegetable pullao after a day in the studio…

  1. Tes says:

    We watched World Cup every nights here. I could use this recipe for a late night meal. Thanks for sharing.

  2. This would win over a takeaway hands down! Looks lovely 🙂

  3. Karolina says:

    Hello! I have found you on UKFBA and I have to admit – I like your blog a lot! Hope to visit you more often.

    I have discovered pulao about year ago, I have made one with peas, onions, almonds and rose water – it was delicious.

  4. quinnlovescali says:

    This looks delicious!

    I played around with the Rosemary Cracker recipe. I did a mix of quinoa & almond flour, and used flax instead of egg. I like these even better – but they have a less nutty, cheesy flavor. I’ll post the recipe today!

  5. yamaonna says:

    That looks really good!

    I’m jealous, you’ve been away and working, and when you open the fridge you’ve got the ingredients to throw together to make this??? *sigh* I hate my tiny fridge…

  6. Ananda says:

    I hate long days of affair with office computer, one perfect recipe with all stored ingredients, inspiring for late easy dinner!

  7. Look at you! You are really developing a reader base out there! I am unduly impressed that you came home and made all of this after returning from Moscow and a day in the studio. You must be 20 something. (grin) Anyway, the recipe looks fantastic! Moscow we have not been to yet, and it is on our definitely list. After Paris and the Balkans this summer – and Egypt, Spain and Machu Picu…I can’t spell today… and then Moscow…. I hope! I would only like to think I would be cooking such a healthy delicious meal after a day like yours…my days are similar. 250 students every 2 days (12-15 years old) Intense happy draining environment…. sometimes I triumph and sometimes I do not. I see anchovies is a theme here…. YUM
    Valerie

  8. tastydesu says:

    This looks delightful Michael. Thank you for sharing! I am definitely going to try this and try it very soon!

    -Liz
    http://www.tastydesu.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

